Rabindra Bharati University holds 43rd annual convocation
India Blooms News Service | 11 May 2018
Rabindra Bharati University holds 43rd annual convocation
Kolkata, May 11 (IBNS): The 43rd Annual Convocation of the Rabindra Bharati University was held at its Jorasanko campus here on Tuesday.

The convocation was presided over by West Bengal Governor Keshari Nath Tripathi, who is also the Chancellor of the university. 
The Chief Guest at the convocation was Professor Furqan Qamar, Secretary General, Association of Indian Universities, who also delivered the convocation address.

At the convocation, D. Litt (honoris causa) degrees were conferred on eminent India classical vocalist Pandit Amiya Ranjan Bandyopadhyay, eminent writer-professor Nabaneeta Dev Sen and renowned painter Jatin Das. 
The Hirachand Dugar Memorial Award 2018 was conferred on Rabindranath Mondal. 
The West Bengal State Akademi of Dance Drama Music and Visual Arts Awards were conferred on Purnima Ghosh, eminent danseuse, Pankaj Kumar Munshi, eminent theatre personality, Ruma Guha Thakurta, eminent singer and Professor Niranjan Pradhan, eminent sculptor. 
The Acharya Dinesh Chandra Sen Memorial Award for folklore research was conferred on Dr. Sukhbilas Barma.

Ninety-five scholars were awarded their Ph.D degrees, and ninety-nine scholars received their M. Phil. degrees at the convocation. 
There were thirty-nine recipients of the Rabindra Bharati University medal.

RBU Vice Chancellor, Professor Sabyasachi Basu Ray Chaudhury, conferred degrees and diplomas on eligible candidates in absentia, and also awarded the medals and prizes.